Start Today

 

by Lori Jacobs

“A year from now you will wish you had started today.”

When I read this quote a few months ago, I made a list of goals, some were big, some seemed trivial. I asked the question, “What do I need to begin doing today to accomplish those goals?”

After watching our son run in high school and college for the past several years–admiring his strength, discipline, endurance, and perseverance–one of the dreams on my list was to run a 5K. I realized if the training didn’t happen, the goal would never be accomplished.

So, with the blessing of an unseasonably warm January, and a very patient son running alongside me, I donned some workout clothes, running shoes, and started–one foot in front of the other. I gave new meaning to the words slow and steady, but I worked up to a half mile, then one mile, then two. Just a few months later, on a cloudy morning in April, I crossed the finish line of my first 3.1-mile run.

God has placed some ministry dreams in my heart that seem unreachable. But He is teaching me some valuable lessons through my running experience that will help me accomplish His bigger dreams. Lessons learned:

  1. Define the dream.
  2. Tell a friend who is an encourager rather than a dream-killer.
  3. Make the sacrifice.
  4. Pray with every step.
  5. Expect resistance.
  6. Memorize a scripture to help you conquer #5. (Mine was Phil. 4:13)
  7. Refresh yourself along the way. (One sip of water works wonders.)
  8. Keep your eyes on the goal.
  9. Celebrate.

What are your dreams? There are none too trivial and none too big.

Start.

A year from now you will be so thankful you started today.

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 393 other followers

